Frequently Asked Questions about Florida DUIs
What Are the Penalties for a DUI Conviction?
DUI penalties get more severe with each additional conviction. In Florida, there are minimum punishments for DUI convictions. That means that if you enter a plea to a DUI, there is a minimum punishment already set by law.
Consequences of a DUI conviction are very serious and can include:
the loss of your driver’s license
jail time and/or probation
expensive fines (which range from $250-$2,500)
higher car insurance rates
In addition, a DUI conviction in Florida stays on your record for 75 years. If you are facing a DUI charge, you should consult an attorney immediately, while you still have a chance to save your driver’s license.
A DUI citation only allows you to drive for 10 days after your arrest.
If you or your attorney do not request a hearing with the DMV within 10 days of your arrest, you will not be able to challenge the suspension of your driver’s license.
We can notify the DMV for you— it’s free, and doesn’t obligate you to hire us.
How Can I Fight a DUI Charge?
In DUI cases, evidence is everything.
Was the arresting officer trained in how to take a breath sample? Was the equipment used to test the sample properly maintained? Is there a police video showing that the driver was impaired? Do the notes taken by the arresting officer leave room for doubt about whether the driver was impaired?
If the police made a mistake, it’s possible that the evidence can be suppressed.
Each case is different. The bottom line is, What is the evidence against the defendant?
For a free consultation.
Traffic and Criminal Defense Topics
For more information on how we can help you, please select a topic below.
Domestic Violence, Assault & Battery Defense
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Defense
Boating Under the Influence (BUI) Defense
Driving with License Suspended
Tourists Facing Charges in Florida
Burglary, Robbery & Theft Defense